What is dacapo and for whom it is designed?

In short: dacapo is a small, lightweight Open Source music-player under GPLv3, which displays high-quality coverarts, images and lyrics as a special feature. The project is hosted at SourceForge, where it can also be . downloaded.

It is intended for people who maintain their digital music collection with a lot of love and work, and who enjoy it when playing the songs to get displayed (in full-screen mode) the coverart and other images, and even the lyrics to read along in sync.

Consequently, FLAC is supported as the preferred format, although other formats can be played.

top

What dacapo is not?

It is not a music management and cherishes no claim to be a comfortable and convenient everything playing media player. Playlists must be present, this can be done by excellent programs such as Quod Libet, or MP3Tag on Windows. With these programs, the metadata can be maintained, too.

It will not search pictures from the Internet, nor the lyrics. Who wants to have synchronous lyrics, has to synchronize them (or get synchronized lyrics). In order to obtain useful images for full-screen mode, you have to try yourself anyway.

top

Features

  • Replay Gain is supported
  • Gapless Playback is supported (important during live music or transitions)
  • All metadata can be displayed, which is stored in the Audio files - freely configurable
  • All images (what is stored in the audio files) can be shown, e.g. as slideshow
  • Lyrics can be displayed as an additional image
  • Synchronized Lyrics can be displayed (like Karaoke)
  • Command line and graphical call possible
  • Runs on Linux
  • Runs on "small" computers (800 MHz with 1 GB RAM)
  • Is freely configurable
  • Plays (currently) FLAC, Ogg-Vorbis, WMA and MP3
  • Multilingual (Translator welcome)
  • Full-screen- and Window-modus

 

top

Was ist dacapo und für wen ist es gedacht?

Kurz: dacapo ist ein kleiner, "leichter" Open Source Musik-Player unter GPLv3, der als Besonderheit hochwertige Bilder und Texte anzeigt. Das Projekt ist bei Sourceforge gehosted, wo es auch runtergeladen werden kann.

Es ist gedacht für Leute, die mit viel Liebe und Arbeit ihre digitale Musiksammlung pflegen, und sich daran erfreuen beim Abspielen der Lieder die Cover- und andere Bilder (auch im Vollbildmodus) angezeigt zu bekommen, und sogar die Texte synchron mitlesen zu können.

Demzufolge wird FLAC als bevorzugtes Format unterstützt, wenn auch andere Formate abgespielt werden.

nach oben

Was ist dacapo nicht?

Es ist keine Musikverwaltung und hegt auch keinen Anspruch ein besonders komfortabler, alles abspielender Medienplayer zu sein. Playlisten müssen vorhanden sein, dies erledigen hervorragende Programme wie Quod Libet, oder MP3Tag unter Windows. Mit diesen Programmen können auch die Metadaten gepflegt werden.

Es werden keine Bilder aus dem Internet gesucht, ebensowenig die Texte. Wer synchrone Texte haben möchte, muss diese synchronisieren (oder sich synchronisierte Texte besorgen). Um brauchbare Bilder für den Vollbildmodus zu bekommen, muss man sich sowieso selbst bemühen.

nach oben

Was kann dacapo?

  • Replay Gain wird unterstützt
  • Gapless Playback wird unterstützt
  • Sämtliche Metadaten aus den Audio-Dateien können angezeigt werden - frei konfigurierbar.
  • Sämtliche Bilder aus der Audio-Datei können angezeigt werden, z.B. als Diashow
  • Texte können als zusätzliches Bild angezeigt werden
  • Synchronisierte Texte können angezeigt werden (ähnlich wie Karaoke)
  • Kommandozeilen- oder graphischer Aufruf möglich
  • Läuft unter Linux
  • Läuft auch auf "kleinen" Computern (800 MHz with 1 GB RAM)
  • Frei Konfigurierbar
  • Spielt FLAC, Ogg-Vorbis, WMA und MP3 ab
  • Mehrsprachige Oberfläche
  • Vollbild- und Fenster-Modus möglich

 

nach oben